Partly at Fault in Texas? The 51% Rule Says You Could Still Get Paid - Mignucci Law Firm | Dallas Personal Injury Attorney
Skip to content

Partly at Fault in Texas? The 51% Rule Says You Could Still Get Paid

Did you know that there are still options for compensation, even if you are partly at fault for a car accident in Texas? Some drivers assume that they won’t be able to recover a settlement if they share fault in the accident. But, according to Texas law, it’s possible to receive compensation as long as you are 50% or less responsible for the accident.

Depending on the percentage of responsibility that you hold, your payout will decrease according to the share of blame. So, it’s smart to hire an experienced legal team that will push back and decrease the fault that is assigned to you.

How the Texas 51% Rule Works

Comparative negligence is handled through the Texas 51% rule. To put it simply:

  • If you are 51% or more at fault for the accident, then no compensation is available.

But if your fault is determined to be 50% or less, then you can receive damages…and the compensation is decreased based on your percentage of fault.

For example, if you have $100,000 in damages, then the percentage of your fault will decrease the financial recovery as follows:

  • If you are 10% at fault, then you may receive $90,000
  • 25% at fault means that you may be paid $75,000
  • 50% at fault means that you can receive up to $50,000

Insurance Strategy: Shifting the Fault to Minimize Payouts

One thing that every driver needs to understand is that insurance adjusters are proactive about trying to shift the blame to you. They understand that every percentage point of blame that is shifted to you means that they have a lower amount that needs to be paid.

So, the strategy that many insurance adjusters use is to deflect fault onto the victim through arguments such as speeding, lane changes, following too closely, or failure to react.

Remember that the fault assigned to you by the insurance adjuster is only their opinion…it’s not the final ruling. Through negotiations, it might be possible to adjust this number so that you qualify for a higher settlement. This is why it’s critical to hire an experienced accident attorney who understands comparative negligence in Texas.

Don't Accept Fault Without Pushing Back

Most insurance providers try to settle the case as soon as possible in an attempt to minimize the amount of money that they need to pay. As a victim in the accident, never accept their at-fault determination or take the first offer that comes through.

Remember that the case isn’t settled until you come to an agreement or the outcome is determined in court. And insurance companies are motivated to settle outside of court because they know that overall costs and legal fees are much higher if the claim ends up in front of a judge.

Be careful to avoid giving a recorded statement before you know your rights. The best decision you will make is to hire an accident attorney as soon as possible, because you need a legal expert who will advocate on your behalf.

One effective strategy is to challenge the at-fault number early, because this approach could possibly change the entire settlement.

Comparative Negligence in Texas: The Evidence That Changes the Percentage

Comparative Negligence in Texas: The Evidence That Changes the Percentage

Since the percentage of fault can be negotiated, the most effective legal strategy is to gather evidence that may reduce your fault. An experienced legal team can help you collect the right types of evidence and build a solid case on your behalf. Examples of the types of evidence that we might collect include:

  • Dashcam and traffic camera footage
  • Photos of the vehicle damage
  • Photos of the injuries
  • Witness statements
  • Police reports
  • Medical records

Additionally, there are times when it makes sense to bring in expert witnesses. For example, medical experts can tie your injuries to the crash, or a reconstruction expert can use skid marks and vehicle data to prove who did what.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I still get compensation if I am partially at fault in Texas?
Yes, it’s still possible to receive compensation, but the settlement that you receive is reduced based on the percentage of fault that you hold. Since the insurance company will try to blame you as much as possible, you need a legal team to help with negotiations.
Insurance policies depend on your carrier and the final determination of fault in the accident. If you hold some blame, then it might have an impact on your premium. Check with your insurer for more information.
Not necessarily. There are factors in the accident that can decrease your fault, such as a sudden stop, broken brake lights, or a driver who cut into the lane. It’s possible that the driver in the front car carries some of the blame. Always collect facts instead of assuming fault.
Even though the statement can be used against you, it doesn’t decide fault permanently. The best thing that you can do is talk to a lawyer for help with reducing your fault determination in the accident. Whenever possible, avoid admitting fault to a police officer or insurance adjuster without first consulting with your attorney.
Even if the insurance company has already given you a fault percentage, there is a possibility of using evidence to shift the blame away from you. Hire a lawyer who can challenge the percentage and keep it from costing you thousands of dollars.

Schedule a Free Consultation with an Accident Attorney

The best way to avoid an unfair fault assignment is by consulting with an experienced accident attorney. For more information, reach out to our team at Mignucci Law. We offer free, no-obligation consultations to help you determine whether you have a claim worth pursuing.